SANTA STUFF

This month is passing by in a whirl. Doesn’t help that the man has been in bed for the good part of four weeks with severe pain from a neck injury.

I left some SS pressies to the last minute and was up all night making two redondo twirly skirts for two very sweet girls. Just waitng on pics to share as I was in such a rush I didn’t have time to take any.

Then there are the two garments that I made for two little sisters…another SS pressie that I am unable to put up pics or share too much detail  atm as they are getting sent out on Monday. (Pics and details to be added at a later date)

But I can share pics of Finny’s Santa Outfit that I managed to get done over two nights (understandably as my ‘nights’ don’t start until after 10pm).

It was at 1 am in the morning that I had a sudden urge to make a Christmas outfit for Finny to wear to Carols in the Park. This was such a bizarre urge as I am not into Christmas stuff in a big way and am such a Christmas grinch this year that we don’t even have a tree up yet.

After having a hunt through my stash (that I am forever thankful for as it allows me to be creative on the spur of the moment) I emerged with some red minky and white cotton sherpa fabric. First off came a wee santa skirt. I measured the length off one of her skirts here and winged it. Next I added a wee santa hat…..having no pattern at that time of the night I just cut and hoped for the best and was really pleased how it turned out.  I had a day to put some thought into the rest of the outfit as I really needed to sleep before the kids started waking.  A jacket was just too rediculous for our New Zealand summer so I made a wee bolero / cardy type jacket to complete the outfit.   dscf7567dscf7564

Nothing to clip the bolero with so I fashioned a clip from a small safety pin and a sparkley pipecleaner which arrived the day before , holding a small parcel together.

dscf7571

This is my fav pic of Finny…taken when mum had taken one two many pics of her and she was fed up with modelling her new outfit. I love it coz her cheeky personality shines through.

dscf75701

This entry was posted in Hats, Santa Costume, Sewing, Stash busting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SANTA STUFF

  1. Flea says:

    OMG that is soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo cute 😀

Leave a Reply

