DECEMBER STITCHES

 December has been a busy month with the sewing machine in use most days nights. Yep… I do most of my sewing at night…normally after 10pm when i manage to kick the big kids out of the tv room. I have taken to sewing in the tv room as it gives me a little company late at night as no one else in this house is keen to keep the hours that I do.

img_15951

A reversible sprocket style dress (from the one piece sundress pattern I bought from SewZannes Fabric )for the little sister and a matching skirt (thanks to my friend Rebecca from Ecobubs who gave me permission to ‘copy’ a skirt she made for Finny)for the big sister. Part of a Secret Santa swap.

img_1601

img_1600

Shorts for Caj.  The shark shorts (swimsuit / boardie type fabric)) aren’t really my taste but he loves them. The fabric was originally bought to make something up for his nephew L. The camoflague type fabric is a light weight 100% cotton drill. If you look carefully there are wee monkeys and frogs amonst the camo. I aren’t a camo fan…..not a pattern I like to see on wee boys. Was really pleased with how these turned out as they were sewn from scratch. I used a 50 cent pair of shorts from the local op shop as a basis for the pattern. Decided not to add pockets coz  I am a lazy sewer I wanted a pattern that was quick and easy to run up.

img_1745

Finny’s Christmas Day dress.  Another reversible one piece sundress. I love it how this fabric is so ‘busy’. makes it hard to notice the cherry and blue berry stains.

img_1868

My ‘circus’ dress……..made to wear in the Christmas Eve parade…then again on Christmas day.  I am getting brave. Another garment made from scratch….I have totally surprised myself that it turned out how I imagined it to be.

img_1869

I like to wear it with a long fine (virtually see-through) black top over it .  I never (and I mean NEVER) sew myself any clothing but I was so happy with how this turned out that I went on to make myself another which I call my Boxing Day Dress.

img_1866img_1865

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stay tuned. More to come once I take/download pics from the camera.

Including more shorts, Christmas skirts for Zel and Flo, MissC’s quilt, Finny’s b’day dress…………………………..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DECEMBER STITCHES

  1. SweetP says:

    You clever thing you. You are looking great xx

  2. Kelly says:

    Oh my – well done!

  3. shortly24 says:

    They look great H!! And you look great too 🙂 You have been so busy!

Leave a Reply

