50 plus 5

A 50th and a 5th b’day in our house…..the same day even.

And my new found mojo has been working overtime.

Two days before the man’s 50th I had a masive urge to make him a quilt for his gift.  I was wanting a gift that had meaning to him and that suited his personality. His first passion is kayakking but with no suitable fabric that depicted that I went with his next passion…the NZ bush and wikderness.Now I am not a quilter. (I made my friend Michelle did most of the sewing on the front panel (still to be finished off) quilt that I made for Miss 16 last Christmas.)

I could only work on it evenings at Michelle’s house as it was a big big secret…. and they turned out to be two very long evenings..working into the early hours of the morning.  I can say that I did it all myself ‘cept for the handsewing of the binding which saw M and I stitching as we watched infomercials on the telly coz that was all there was in the early hours of the morning.

IMG_6395

Michelle completing the last stitch

And the finished product.quilt

 I am yet to take some more detailed close up pics

And just so that Caj had something special ‘made by his mum’ for his b’day I whipped up a few bunting  flags to brighten up our livingroom. After a quick hunt through my fabric stash (and a chance to do a little stash bust) a pirate theme seemed perfect for him. Thanks to Beth from stitch.rip.repeat for the tutorial.  I made a few alterations but the basic tutorial is great and very easy to follow.

DSCF8899

DSCF8901

This entry was posted in B'Day, Bunting, Fabric, Flags, quilt, Sewing, Stash busting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 50 plus 5

  1. Great job on the quilt! I love the pirate banner too.

  2. Flea says:

    That bunting looks great and well done on the quilt 🙂

  3. Kelly says:

    Thats absoblimminlutely beautiful!

  4. challenged says:

    Go Heather! What a fantastic run that you’re on. Love the quilt & the bunting, just fabulous! I hope you keep running full-steam ahead with inspiration so I can drool some more!

Leave a Reply

