New Year Challenge

This has been sitting in the draft box since January….when it should have been posted.

I didn’t make any resolutions at the beginning of the year. Actually the New year passed with barely a flick of the eye lid as I battled with some dragons that needed slaying. From the depths of despair came an idea. An idea to spend the year dispensing koha ( a New Zealand Maori word meaning gift or donation) to people, an idea with the selfish beginnings of pulling myself up and out of the dragon’s lair by putting a smile on ’ face or helping in some small way to lighten another’s’ load. I would love for all the koha to be anonymous but at times it just doesn’t work out that way, though sometimes the intended recipient doesn’t even realise they are a part of my game and are  being koha’d.

For those of you who are in the midst of dragon slaying (or not as the case may be) and are thinking that this may be a good game for you I’ll give you a brief outline on how it has panned out for me for the month of January.

I have given myself a few rules. You may use my rules or make up a new set of rules for yourself.

MY RULES

  • I must give the recipient a smile
  • I must not expect anything in return and give gladly with love and from my heart
  • I will not support cancer research
  • I aim to koha at least once a week
  • Koha does not have to be donation of money
  • Anything goes (well…most within reason)
  • You do not have to be there in person to actually see the smile
  • I reserve the right to change or add or ignore the rules as it suits me

I have had a clear intention and have not had to look yet for a recipient. They have unknowingly come to me or have been put in my path.

Now for those who may be wondering how this pans out in real life day-to-day living here are a few examples :

It may be as simple as smiling at and greeting a random stranger as you walk along the street,  gifting a few dollars where there is a need, sharing a little of what you have, using up a little of your yarn stash to knit hats for babies that are born too early or sick, taking a few tablespoons of fresh ground coffee when you visit with friends, let your friends do the talking and you be a listening ear for them, give away clothing and possessions that you no longer need, play a board game with your kids, buy a ticket in a raffle or charity auction…… you get the picture.

A funny thing about this game is that once you start to play it those dragons seem to get  slayed real fast, leaving you with even more time to play the game. An even funnier thing is that after playing the game for a wee while you forget you are playing the game  and automatically  koha smiles without even realising it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Year Challenge

  1. Jo's Place says:

    I agree 100%, this is my plan for this year too. Funnily enough last Friday I woke up with this overwhelming sensation to clean out the clothes and drop off at the sallies as well as a few other things. Within 2 hours I had a car load of items to pass on (some of which were jumpers and bedding which is good timing with this weather as of late). So I bundled the kids up and off we trotted.
    Yay for slaying your dragons 🙂

Leave a Reply

